Finished Object-Honeycowl

A long long while back my friend Sarah had a very stress-filled life. She found that her usual methods of busting stress were not working and she was grasping for anything that could help. The truth is everyone’s life is stressful in someway or another and we all have our ways of dealing with it. My main outlet is knitting and I was convinced that if she tried it she would love it as much as I do. She would love the feel of yarn in her lap and needles in her hands. She would love the feeling you get when your work grows and starts to resemble something tangible. She would get distracted by how delicious the yarn felt and would just pet it while sighing away her stress. She didn’t love knitting yet because she didn’t know. I couldn’t wait for my beloved friend to find out she had been secretly in love with knitting her whole life so I jumped in and helped her. I pointed her in the direction of some patterns and she found a pattern she wanted to make for herself. She bought some yarn and needles (with my guidance) and was so excited. This had all the makings of a happy ending. We did some video chatting when the yarn arrived and tried to get it all started. I was eagerly anticipating a call from her, apologizing for not believing me sooner. I imagined the despair in her voice when she realized how much time she had wasted not knitting.

I texted her and emailed her a few times asking how it was going, you know since I hadn’t heard from her. She said she’d been busy and hadn’t really had much of a chance to work on it. Finally we had a video chat in which it became really clear that Sarah wasn’t in love with knitting. (It was a tough day for me but I tried to hide my disappointment). It turns out Sarah’s favorite part of knitting is winding the yarn. She hand wound her hanks into balls of yarn and it went really well. When the actual knitting started however, she was let’s just say less than enthused. She’d picked the Honeycowl pattern and didn’t get much past the second or third row. She said she was going to keep working on it though, that she really wanted to do it herself.

A few months later I went to visit her in Philadelphia and while looking around her home, I saw the cowl laying there in the bag sad and alone. I took pity on it. Casually, I asked Sarah if she had worked on it at all, she said no, it just wasn’t her angst. I wanted to pick it up and start knitting it right there but I didn’t want to be presumptuous. So I tried to keep my cool and tried to subtly ask if she wanted me to finish it for her. Her whole body reacted before her mouth even opened. I could see the relief leave her shoulders and her eyes. She’s not the type of person who would continue to do something she didn’t enjoy for the sake of doing it. She was “trying” because of me. She’s a good friend.

Well, I snapped up that sucker and started knitting that night. We had drinks, turned on some music, crafted, and talked. It was the perfect way to spend an evening. She is working on a kick-ass cross stitch alphabet sampler for my kids. I didn’t get it finished before it warmed up but I did finish it and it’s beautiful. She wanted the extra long version and the full width. (That’s a lot of freaking stitches man.) If she doesn’t like it as a cowl, it could also be a short skirt. Ha!

20130826-081129.jpg

Pattern: Honeycowl by Madelinetosh

Yarn: Cascade 220 I don’t remember the colorway.

Mods: None!

Thoughts: It’s an easy pattern and after the first set of repeats you really don’t need to look at the pattern at all. It’s good for movie knitting or tv knitting.

 

20130826-081142.jpg

Leave a Reply

