On the Needles

I’m a big fan of Glenna C over at Knitting to Stay Sane and when I saw her Ravine pullover in Skien Theory I was in love. It is just beautiful and purple! Now I know you don’t have to make the sweater in the same color as the pattern but this purple just made me want it more. This pattern has beautiful cables and a very nice shape.

I’ve been working on this sweater for a long while because it hasn’t been sweater weather around here for months. I’ve just been working on it a little at a time.  Plus, I’m knitting these on straight needles so my hands get tired from all the cabling without a cable needle stuff.  I’ve completed both sleeves and the back.  I’m maybe a third of the way done with the front.  It’s moving along nicely and should be ready with plenty of time for wearing in the fall (that is if it ever gets cold around here).

Also on the needles this week are the Monkey socks by Cookie A.  I think I read on someone’s blog about these socks and I’ve heard from the gals over at the Knit 1 Geek 2 podcast that her socks are a challenging kind of fun so I was game to try.  I have a skein of Madelinetosh Sock in the colorway Black Velvet which is gorgeous and decided that it would become the Monkey socks.  I had planned to keep these for myself but that never really happens so who knows what will end up happening to these.  I have one sock completed and the other is just past the cuff.  These were a super fast knit so I anticipate being done with them soon.

Even though I have those two things on the needles right now, I’m kind of itching to cast on the Simplicity Cardigan.   I wound the yarn and the needles are sitting in the ball waiting.  I keep telling myself that I need to work on Ravine more before I start but I’m not sure I’m going to be able to resist.

What are you working on now?

Leave a Reply

