Knitterly Resolutions

I’ve been knitting for about 5 years now and have had varying degrees of success with the things I’ve knitted. Hats and socks have pretty much gone well. Sweaters have been about 50/50 and I really haven’t expanded to some of the more difficult aspects of knitting. I am going to challenge myself this year. I’d really like to have a success rating of 80% or more and there are a few things that I can do to try to ensure that.

1. SWATCH, SWATCH, SWATCH-The only reason I don’t really swatch now is because I don’t want to wait. I’m too impatient and very excited to get started on the next project but from now on I vow to swatch. I’ve even done a few already in preparation for my next sweater project.

2. Start with the sleeves- Glenna over at Knitting to Stay Sane (amen) suggests that when starting a sweater project you should begin with the sleeves. They will give you a good estimate if you’re gauge is good and if it’s not, it’s significantly less to rip out than an entire back or front of a sweater. Patterns aren’t usually written sleeve first so I never even thought of this but it’s a great idea and I will be doing this going forward.

3. Read the information that’s out there-Ravelry is such a great resource for us knitters and people have taken the time to make notes on their projects so that others can benefit from their experience. You can learn about what problems people had with the pattern before you start and what modifications people made that you may want to also.

4. Write up my notes-to go along with #3. If I want to be able to reap the benefits from others experiences I should do the same for them. I’m hoping this blog will help with that. I’m a terrible note taker.

5. Knit more socks-for others and me. My husband is in desperate need to replace his existing store bought socks with new ones. He has three pairs of hand knit ones that he really likes but I know he would love some more. I wouldn’t mind a pair or two myself. I’m not going to go as far as to say I want to knit a pair a month because I’d already be behind for this month but maybe 6 this year? Maybe that should say Acquire Large Sock Yarn Stash instead?

6. Try Fair Isle-I really want to learn how to do stranded knitting. I think I’m OK with two colors but I’d really like to challenge myself to do something more difficult. How gorgeous is this?

7. Obtain this some how-ok this is more of a wish than a resolution but what a great deal!

Here’s to another year of knitting!

Leave a Reply

