In Progress

As of today I have a few things in progress.

1. Flower Child by Norah Gaughan.  My mother fell in love with this pattern while visiting a LYS and immediately wanted me to make it for her, that is until she saw how much yarn would be required and how much each skein was.  I wasn’t in love with the pattern so I didn’t push it.  THEN we were at WEBS doing some birthday shopping (I can’t even say how much fun it is to shop for yarn when it’s a gift!) and we found the Pure Pima on sale because it was being discontinued.  She bought a bag in two different colors and said now you can finally knit me that sweater.  I’ve been slowly working on it since about uh, July.  Five sections make up the front and five make up the back.  That’s a lot of freaking parts, not to mention the seaming which is where I am now.  Know what else 10 separate pieces leaves you with? Lots of weaving in ends.  Everything is seamed except the shoulders and I know that the end is so near but when I started the seaming it just didn’t look right and I haven’t had a lot of one-on-one time with it to concentrate on making it right.

DSC08761

2. Shedir by Jenna Wilson.  Sister-in-law was a little jealous that her hubby got a hat for Christmas and she didn’t.  (Mother-in-law piped in too but we’ll get to that later.)  This hat is 2/3’s of the way completed but unfortunately I don’t have enough yarn.  I’m in the process of trying to find someone stateside who would be willing to part with theirs but so far I haven’t had any takers.  There is someone across the pond that has some but she’s a last resort because of the shipping charges.  Fingers crossed that I can find a skein, I don’t have much left to do!

Shedir

3. Rhonda Cap by Brenda K.B. Anderson.  I absolutely LOVE this hat and all the parts are knitted I just need the buttons and to sew the brim on.  I know that this will be an awesome hat for when I cut all my hair off I just need to find the right buttons which requires going to a store and with three little kids that seems like too much to take on right now so I’ll leave it.

Rhonda Cap

5. Straight up Socks by Kelie Oreb.  These socks will be on the needles for awhile since the pattern suggests trying on the sock multiple times to obtain the optimal fit.  Normally that wouldn’t be a problem but this is the first time I’m making these socks and the recipient is not in the state.  Unfortunately my husband is away and will be for awhile so I won’t be able to get him to try them on for awhile.  These are my first toe-up socks so I didn’t know what to expect.  I should remember that knitting patterns are like recipes in that they should always be read all the way through at least one, if not twice to ensure success.  I’m stuck at the increases for the gusset.

Straight up Socks

So that’s what I’m working on now.  Hopefully I can get something finished soon.

Leave a Reply

